Automobile accidents can happen to anyone at any time, even to very safe and experienced drivers. It is difficult to figure out exactly what one should do in the middle of such an ordeal, especially when there is significant property damage, even if no one is injured. It is always wise to be prepared ahead of time by knowing what the law requires of drivers who are involved in automobile accidents in the state of New York.
Although it may seem obvious, any time you are involved in an accident, you are required to remain on the scene and exchange your personal and insurance information with any other drivers also involved in the accident. If there is merely property damage, you are only required to exchange this information, unless there is damage to a parked vehicle or other unmanned property, or a domestic animal is injured -- then you are required to contact police or locate the owner of the animal or property.
However, if any single person suffers property damage that exceeds $100,1 in value, all drivers who are involved in the accident are required to file a Report of Motor Vehicle Accident with the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. Failure to file within 10 days of the accident may result in a suspension of license.
An automobile accident can often have longer lasting implications than at first seems apparent. Qualified legal counsel can help ensure that those involved in such an accident have their rights protected and are able to resolve the matter fairly.